The White House in Washington DC

The White House in Washington DC

The White House Landmark – The White House is located in the United States capital, Washington DC, at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, two blocks north of the Mall, near the Washington Monument. The White House is the residence and official residence of the US President. Barack Obama is currently in the White House.

Theodore Roosevelt named it the White House in 1901 because of its white exterior.

The White House has 35 bathrooms, 132 rooms, 147 windows, 412 doors, 8 staircases, 3 elevators, a tennis court, a swimming pool, a cinema and a bowling alley. A bunker is located under the east wing.

If you are vacationing in Washington DC, the White House is definitely a must-visit attraction. Even if you can only view the White House from a distance due to increased security measures. Guided tours or tickets to the White House are hard to come by as you have to apply well in advance. In order to obtain an admission ticket, foreign citizens must apply to the respective embassy in Washington DC 6 months to 30 days before the planned visit.

If you haven’t received tickets to the White House, a visit to the Visitor Center is a good idea. You can purchase maps, maps and videos of the White House at the White House Visitor Center. The White House Visitor Center is located at 1450 Pennsylvania Avenue and is open from 7:30 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.

The best view of the White House is from the Ellipse, a small park area south of the White House. You can also get a good view of the Washington Monument from the Ellipse.

History of the White House in Washington DC

According to anycountyprivateschools, the White House, located at 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue, was Washington’s first building. The location was then determined by George Washington. Construction began on October 13, 1792, the day the American capital was founded. The building was designed by architect and Irish master builder James Hoban and modeled after Leinster House in Dublin.

The first occupant of the White House was the second President, John Adams, in 1800.

In 1814 the White House was destroyed in the British-American War. In 1819, the famous White House was rebuilt in a neoclassical style. The West Wing was built in 1901 and the Oval Office in 1909 .

In 1919, the President’s famous study, the Oval Office, was built under the direction of William Howard Taft.

On December 24, 1929, the west wing was destroyed by fire.

From 1949 to 1952, the White House was gutted and renovated under President Harry S. Truman (Truman reconstruction). It was in a very bad condition at the time.

The White House (White House Complex) now consists of the main building (Executive Residence), the West Wing (West Wing) with the Oval Office, the East Wing (East Wing) and a small park. The Eisenhower Executive Office Building is located a little off the beaten path.

The entire White House is set up as a high-security wing with cameras, the National Guard, police officers and security personnel monitoring everything around the clock.

The National Christmas Tree has stood in front of the White House every Christmas since 1932. Set-up is led by the First Lady and the switching on of the lights is televised.

The Capitol in Washington DC was built from 1793 to 1800 and was the first major structure in Washington DC after the White House.

Address of the White House attraction in Washington DC

The White House in Washington DC
1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington, DC 20500

The White House in Washington DC